Ryukyu Islands Timelines: History of Karate

The area we know as Okinawa (Just off of Japan) used to be called the Ryukyu Islands and were separated into 3 separate islands (Chuzan, Nanzan & Hokuzan).

In 1429, after many wars with each other, the 3 islands were united under one Fudual lord called King Hassai. He decided to ban all weapons to stop all the tension. In 1477 King Sho Shin took over and kept the no weapons law.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.